Finding aid for the Ohio Militia, 4th Division Records

Repository: Western Reserve Historical Society
Creator: Ohio Militia, 4th Division
Title: Ohio Militia, 4th Division Records
Dates: 1807-1830
Extent: 0.20 linear feet (1 volume)
Abstract: The Ohio Militia was established by the Ohio Constitution in 1803. Based on precedents established by the Northwest Territory, male citizens between the ages of 16 and 45 in Ohio were required to perform military duty. The Ohio Militia was divided into four divisions initially, with a fifth established in 1813. Elijah Wadsworth of Canfield, Ohio, commanded the 4th Division. Each division was further divided into four or five brigades, which were then divided into regiments and companies. The collection consists of orders, class rolls, record of appointments, and court-of-inquiry reports of the 4th Division of the Ohio Militia.
MS Number MS 0428
Location: closed stacks
Language: The records are in English