Finding aid for the Index to Portage County, Ohio Census Records

Repository: Western Reserve Historical Society
Creator: Portage County, Ohio
Title: Index to Portage County, Ohio Census Records
Dates: 1880
Extent: 0.60 linear feet (3 containers)
Abstract: Originally part of the Connecticut Western Reserve, Portage County, Ohio was legally created a separate county in February, 1807, along with Ashtabula and Cuyahoga counties. The new counties were sold to Samuel P. Lord, his son Richard, and son-in-law Josiah Barber for development. In 1810 Ravenna, then called Tappanville, was made the county seat. The collection consists of a set of index books to the Portage County, Ohio 1880 census, keyed to individual villages and townships in the county: Atwater, Aurora, Brimfield, Charlestown, Deerfield, Edinburg, Franklin, Freedom, Garretsville, Hiram, Kent, Mantua, Nelson, Palmyra, Paris, Ravenna Township North, Ravenna Township South, Rootstown, Shalersville, Streetsboro, Suffield, and Windham. Each book contains the compiler's name and the full name, age, sex and race of each person living in the district.
MS Number MS 3762
Location: closed stacks
Language: The records are in English